KTS-Sensei-Bottom-Menu

GM U’UN Surya (Sifu Thio Cuan Un)

Viewing 27 reply threads
  • Author
      sigobang
      Participant

Hi, everyoneMy Name is Bangbang Sudradjat, I live in Bandung, Indonesia. I am a student of combined kuntao and silat (mainly silat which developed in west Java). I am now studying from guru Iwan Kartawijaya (Sifu Sien Kwang). Thanks for letting me joined this forum. My guru studied maenpo peupeuhan together with GM U'UN Surya back in the late 70's under Bapak Adung Rais in Bandung. They are also good friends. It's a shame I didn't have an opportunity to meet him personally, as he has passed away back in 2000 I think 🙁 May god bless him.I am very surprised to see a picture of a great Grandmaster, Om (uncle) Cuan Un on this site https://kuntaosilat.com/images/chang.jpg and couldn't be any happier to see him in action. My guru has told me stories about him. I have spoken and trained with many of his students here. I am sure they would also be glad to see more pictures or videos of him in the USA back then. If you could tell me more about him, I would be more than happy to listern 🙂I apologize for my limited english 😀Cheers

Travis C
      Participant

Selamat,It is good to hear from our bretheren from across the water. Welcome and God Bless.

sigobang
      Participant

thanks for the speedy reply 😀Have you met him personally? I am really curious on how he moves on his contact reflexes, how he moves to make every conflict to become closed ranged fighting. How he lures and traps his opponents. If any suheng here could give me more pics or videos of him, I would be one of the happiest man 😀Salam

Elijah Gartin
      Keymaster

First off, thank YOU for joining our forum.

sigobang
      Participant

Thanks Elijah. 🙂

Anonymous
      Inactive

Hi Bangbang,It is good to hear from you.

Steve
      Keymaster

;DGood to hear from our Indonesian Brothers,Bill Chang was one of my closest friends and most important mentors.

Steve
      Keymaster